EXIN Agile Service Manager

Digital Badge EXIN Agile Service Manager

As more organizations decide to adopt agile principles, the demand for professionals who have agile skills has been increasing. Agile has traditionally been associated with development teams but now other departments are also sitting up and taking notice of the benefits and results of an agile mindset. The role of Agile Service Manager came about by applying agile principles to Service Management. Changing just one of the agile principles in the process (Working services over comprehensive documentation) has led to a shift in service management for the better with more focus on the customer, more agility, and less waste.

When you are certified by EXIN as an EXIN Agile Service Manager you are extensively tested on the main topics of Agile Scrum and Service Management (based on VeriSM). Agile Scrum will provide the competences needed to achieve the required level of agility, and VeriSM will enable an integrated approach to Service Management for the whole organization (including but not limited to IT).


Why become an Agile Service Manager?

Agile Service Managers can become an essential link between Operational and Development teams and therefore are essential in making DevOps and Agile work in organizations. There is an increasing demand for this role which is reflected by attractive salaries and opportunities. Professionals from many different backgrounds should consider becoming an Agile Service Manager if they want a dynamic, challenging and exciting career. 

The diagram below shows the path you will need to take to become an EXIN Certified Agile Service Manager. There are 3 certifications you need to complete successfully before you will be awarded the Agile Service Manager title. These cover Agile Scrum and IT Service Management to give you the theoretical knowledge required to as an Agile Service Manager. The highest level certification also includes practical assignments to ensure that you have the required skills to step straight into the role. This certification has been designed to reflect a career path - it gradually becomes more difficult as you progress through the certifications. 

Structure of EXIN Certified Agile Service Manager:

We recommend that you start off with EXIN Agile Scrum Foundation and the work your way through the certifications in order as they become more advanced. However, if you have previously attained one of the certifications below, you only have to take the exams for the other 2 to be awarded the career path certification.

Within the EXIN Agile Service Manager Career Path, there are alternative certifications that are accepted as a replacement for the ones that are shown. For a full list of currently allowed alternatives see the document here.

Overview EXIN Agile Service Manger

As the role of Agile Service Manager is based on agile skills, the first level of this certification is EXIN Agile Scrum Foundation. In contrast to other agile or scrum certifications, EXIN's certification combines scrum frameworks with the agile mindset to ensure candidates have an understanding of Scrum practices within the broader context.

EXIN Agile Scrum Foundation

EXIN Agile Scrum Foundation offers professionals a unique certification that combines agile principles and scrum practices. The exam tests candidates on their understanding of key concepts and their application.

For the second domain of the Agile Service Manager certification, you need to choose between IT Service Management and Service Integration and Management (SIAM). Either of these foundation-level certifications will give you a solid background understanding of modern service management.

EXIN SIAM™ Foundation

EXIN SIAM™ Foundation tests a candidate’s knowledge and understanding of the terminology and the core principles of SIAM. This certification covers subjects including the potential benefits, challenges, and risks of implementing Service Integration and Management.

EXIN IT Service Management Foundation based on ISO/IEC 20000:2018

EXIN IT Service Management Foundation based on ISO/IEC 20000:2018 tests a candidate’s fundamental knowledge of key information and concepts of ITSM. The emphasis is placed on the service management system (SMS) and service management processes. Specifically the core concepts and basic terminology of ITSM based on ISO/IEC 20000:2018.

Lastly, to complete your Agile Service Manager certification, you need to successfully pass the VeriSM™ Professional exam. This will give you a broad understanding of modern service management practices, the VeriSM Management Mesh and how to apply it in an organization.

VeriSM™ Professional

The VeriSM™ Professional certification tests a candidate’s knowledge of, and skills in, applying VeriSM™ in an organization. Those certified as VeriSM™ Professional understand the impact of digital transformation on the organization and on people, consumers as well as staff. They are able to translate strategic direction into a successful operating environment. The certified VeriSM™ Professional has proven his or her ability to create and use a Management Mesh that is based on the organization’s portfolio, principles, and governance needs. After creating or adapting the Management Mesh based on new requirements, a VeriSM™ Professional is able to manage the product or service through the Define, Produce, Provide and Respond stages.

How do I become an EXIN Certified Agile Service Manager?

After you have completed the 3 required certifications you will automatically be awarded the EXIN Certified Agile Service Manager certification. To get started, please go to the Get Certified tool and select the certification you wish to attain first. If you would like to find out more information, please contact our support team: